top of page
  • Writer's pictureGozie Aham

Donatello

Updated: Dec 23, 2023

And Tuesday came,

still undecided like ever.

A perfect date only happens in July.

We sought one

& I ended up at 37 Elm Street.


Slow jazz in the background,

Old Italian-styled ambiance,

with service in Queen's English.

Although weary and starved,

Easily I waited.

Then I went upstairs,

An hour & a few swung by,

eventually you came by.


Dazzled by the smile you had on,

I made that hug awkward.

We hobnobbed until we forgot

the menu and people around.

As empty was my stomach,

your happiness made me stuffed.

Our body spoke a language

the people did not understand.


Forever we longed an evening date

with candles lit at the rooftop patio,

that even with the rushing wind

accompanied by a singing rain,

the heavens saved the date with the terrace.

Oh what an euphoric night it was,

that you forgot with me your purse.

Yet we spent hours in your car,

rubbing our lips at my facade.


Lips to lips,

Hands on your slender waist,

then behind your neck.

It was a movie

until our teeth jammed,

then our eyes opened

to behold my landlord peeping,

concluding date number thirteen.


Fate had led us this far,

but little was known,

my best date will be our third last.

Many dates I have been to,

but the best of them were all with you.

All the shared emotions & times

archived in my heart.


Even perfect stories have an end.

Although ours was only 50 pages long,

you were the best I never had.

I knew you would break my heart,

but prayed for disappointment.

I still suffer because I lost you,

but I would suffer the most if I had you.

You had my soul and heart in a platter.

You were like Donatello.



109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page