top of page
  • Writer's pictureGozie Aham

Discerning Happiness

Updated: Dec 23, 2023

Night times, I find peace

on the lips of a bottle.

Other times, in God's word.

I do not ask for much,

happiness is what I seek.


A fool for society once,

for if the escape route was

in the bosom of women,

or in the ecstasy of the night,

I would have known peace.


Once a fool for church too,

for if the preacher's sermon

led me not into confusion

or gave me salvation,

I would know elation.


Like a nomad, I journey forever

to where the pasture is greener;

but there exists no love for a wanderer,

after all I am now an outcast.

Alas, we are not different,

but I continue to scour and settle not,

unlike the church and society.


118 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page